The Terrace

Got an opinion on this bar? Why not write a review

Has this bar closed down or changed name?  Let us know

Are you the Licencee? Click here

5, Fossgate,  York

YO1 9TA

01904 674824


This pub is included in 7 user created pub crawls

See user created pub crawls in York

Photo of The Terrace
Think you've got a better photo? [Upload a photo]
Show Pub Using Street View

Facilities

  • Serves FoodServes Food
  • Has Garden/Outside SeatingGarden/Outside Seating
  • Has a Pool TablePool Table
  • DartsHas A Dart Board
  • Shows SportShows Sport
  • Big ScreenHas A Big Screen TV(s)
  • Disabled AccessDisabled Access
  • AmusementsAmusements

Are the facilities incorrect?  Edit them!

Ratings

Your Ratings
Overall:
2.7/5 (16 Votes)
1 5
Food:
2.5/5 (17 Votes)
1 5
Atmosphere:
2.7/5 (18 Votes)
1 5
Beer Quality:
2.7/5 (15 Votes)
1 5
Drinks Selection:

(real ales, wine etc)

2.9/5 (15 Votes)
1 5

Reviews

12/06/2016 21:01:33

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Staff moral could be better none of them look happy and that puts a downer on the atmosphere in the pub (doom and gloom ) food is okay but expensive but yet again average york prices I guess. I like the pub just not the rude staff.

[report for removal]  

22/06/2015 16:58:03

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This pub is awful staff are young girls that don't want to be there and make customers feel unwelcome. Plenty of staff but not necessarily good service just stood talking to each other. I went round the corner to the bell and served straight away barmaid was officiant.food is okay just staff moral is low. Kev the barman is a top bloke and service is he's pride.

[report for removal]  

04/06/2015 15:45:03

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

DON'T COMPLAIN ABOUT THE FOOD JUST DON'T ORDER IT.

[report for removal]  

29/05/2015 20:58:51

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

the terrace is a sports bar located in York city centre. food is not very good for the price average meal price is £9.99 each and then £3.50 a pint. The roast beef meal is a little shabby for the price small lump of mash and no roast potatoes. the manager is a **** (they all fit) but don't take my word for it see all other reviews online we cant all be wrong can we or can we. this place is not friendly and makes you feel unwelcome however the golden fleece a few doors down is a godsend with history.

I DONT EXSPECT ANYONE TO JUMP ON THE BAND WAGGON ABOUT THIS PUB BUT PLEASE READ AS MANY REVIEWS AS POSSIBLE.

SPEND YOUR MONEY WHERE YOUR MADE TO FEEL WELCOME AND FEEL AT HOME.

ENJOY YORKS HISTORY.

[report for removal]  

16/05/2015 19:03:19

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Sports bar aka dive. Dodgy sky sports with no licence all sports streamed from the Internet you might see the odd goal if not your sure to see a blank screen with scramble because the Internet is not connecting properly. Miserable bar staff who just want to see your money. Go to 147 club a real sports bar with top quality barmaids.

[report for removal]  

11/02/2015 22:51:43

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This pub is good for football and all sport in general. Food is what you would expect in most average pubs.this is a expensive pub for drinks and food.please also note that this pus is not stag or hen party friendly its all about sport and regulars. Tourists would not be welcome in this pub it's only the face regulars are not enough to keep this pub afloat. I'm not telling you to avoid this pub but what I will say is we can't all be wrong with our reviews now can we? You decide.

[report for removal]  

28/01/2015 22:40:50

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Fancy a good laugh with your family or friends? Then the terrace isn't for you the barmaids are dull unfriendly always stood talking to each other to notice you want serving for another pint.food is expensive and about a 30 minute for your food as they only have 1 chef.new staff needed in my opinion I'm in your public house it's for you to make us customers feel welcome you set of miserable sods. No one likes work but you get paid for it ladies come on. No customers no jobs

[report for removal]  

16/12/2014 14:11:17

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

run down pub in the centre of York full of sport shouting yobs. I have never been in a pub were the staff are so rude big bloke with shaved head served me (I JUST WANT A PINT MATE NOT A FIGHT)he seems to square up to you like a hard man when you ask for a drink.I know its a sports bar but come on lol I wanna watch the boxing not end up boxing. clean up your act.

[report for removal]  

09/12/2014 23:16:15

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This is hands down the worst pub I have ever had the misfortune to enter. Places like this are what online reviews where designed for, had I read anything online before entering I would have saved myself the trouble of being threatened by both the staff and a customer simply for entering the building. The drinks are over priced, glasses and surroundings are dirty, the atmosphere is unwelcoming and the staff are extremly aggressive. Things to do in York: avoid the Terrace.

[report for removal]  

08/12/2014 21:09:32

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Literally in this pub for five minutes and got told off twice...I took my wife and brother (who had traveled from America) to a pub to watch the game. First there was a box that was on the table, out of curiosity I opened it to see dominos. I hadn't put it down before a man reached over my should and told me not to touch because there was "an important domino match" later that night. After that I went to order drinks for my wife and I, my brother didn't want anything to drink yet. When I got back with the drinks the man from the bar followed me back to my table and said that if my brother didn't have a drink we would have to leave. This all happened literally in a five minute period of walking in the door. This place is awful...

[report for removal]  

16/09/2014 18:33:08

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Honest review. Me and mum spent day out in york lovely city. Stop off for a bit of lunch at the terrace bar. Bar full of football shouting yobs not a nice place to sit and eat a meal. Not much change out of a £20 note on 2 meals. Staff below par busy chatting to one and other.think this bar may be under new management since last visit was yo1 bar.

Scarborough yks

[report for removal]  

13/08/2014 19:03:17

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Day stop off for me and the wife. Pub for regulars staff look like a wet weekend in Blackpool. Lovely roast dinner tho can't falt that. Bloke with ginger hair seems to be manager should take control of staff and lead by example. No history in this pub doesn't even look like a part of york.

Philip & Pauline

[report for removal]  

14/07/2014 10:08:31

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

The manager is very rude to say the very least probably an understatement.please don't buy beer or food in this place the service is very poor try the bell round the corner for a nice drink (OTHER NICE PUBS ARE AVAILABLE)all us customers can't be wrong about this bloke. There is 1 poor chef working on is own with about 5 bar staff on a weekend and they wonder why there are lots of complaints when waiting 50 minutes for a meal best thing is avoid this place.

[report for removal]  

05/07/2014 11:40:01

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I was in The Terrace Saturday 5TH July 2014 I would just like to say what a fantastic service we had from Leigh!! Every single staff member and manager is fantastic. Leigh and Rosie are really out going and know how to make a customer feel welcome. But all in all great pub ignore the bad comments you always get a great pint from here m&m hull.

[report for removal]  

23/06/2014 21:29:55

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

The terrace is a great pub with friendly staff especially Rosie the barmaid who works there most days.Rosie creates a great atmosphere and makes you feel welcome all the time.we have read lot's of reviews on the terrace but have yet to find any faults with the place.Great pint of beer with a good head also great food at reasonable prices. Don't let the reviews put you off. M&M of Hull.

[report for removal]  

11/07/2010 17:31:17

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This pub is an ideal place for thugs. Shows football but manager picks fights with customers whenever he fancies it. Common knowledge that you will get thrown out if you take a pint back for being off but they are happy to regularly provide off beer.

[report for removal]  

11/07/2010 17:24:26

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

This is not a good bar, there are plenty of better places in York. I just got thrown out of there for ordering an Amstel then taking it back to the bar because it tasted off. They pushed me to comment on what was wrong with it - being rather intimidating I might add - then when I suggested the pipes might not be as clean as they could be they told me to leave, saying I was ignorant and not welcome there. I can only suggest they acted like thugs and are clearly used to dealing with them. If you're a thug then this is the place you've been looking for. If you're not, you don't have to walk far to find better watering holes than this. This is more of a hole.

[report for removal]  


Beer Hawke