Previously Named:  Portland Hotel and Rock Bar

Got an opinion on this bar? Why not write a review

Has this bar closed down or changed name?  Let us know

Are you the Licencee? Click here

153 Portland Road,  Brighton & Hove

BN3 5QJ

01273 383840

Area of Brighton & Hove: Hove


This pub is included in 3 user created pub crawls

See user created pub crawls in Brighton & Hove

Photo of The Stoneham
Think you've got a better photo? [Upload a photo]
Show Pub Using Street View

Facilities

  • Serves FoodServes Food
  • Has Garden/Outside SeatingGarden/Outside Seating
  • Children WelcomeChildren Welcome

Are the facilities incorrect?  Edit them!

Ratings

Your Ratings
Overall:
2.9/5 (26 Votes)
1 5
Food:
3.2/5 (25 Votes)
1 5
Atmosphere:
2.9/5 (25 Votes)
1 5
Beer Quality:
3.2/5 (22 Votes)
1 5
Drinks Selection:

(real ales, wine etc)

3.4/5 (22 Votes)
1 5

Near By Pubs

Nearest first: Three Graces, George Payne, The Ancient Mariner, The Westbourne

Looking for a Hotel near The Stoneham?

Reviews

27/06/2014 09:58:53

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Awful!

Indifferent staff, indifferent manager, poor service and attitude.

Starter returned as inedible then a 35 minute wait for pizza which was

very over priced for what was on the plate.

This was a lunchtime visit so was not busy, only 4 other couples in the garden,

3 of which experiencing wrong orders, inedible food and dismissive staff,

Do not waste your time and money.

[report for removal]  

01/11/2013 22:30:30

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

As other people have said some of the staff are very off and rude. But what really ruined our evening was the amount of children running wild in there, its like a nursery with a bar in it and this was 8 pm . none of us will be going back.

[report for removal]  

02/03/2013 04:29:41

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I have been going to the Stoneham since it opened. It is by far my favourite place to go for pizza (& salads!!) in Brighton. I've had my birthday dinner there twice and my partner has used it countless amounts of times to take his clients to lunch. I've only ever had good service & excellent food. The staff are really friendly and always go out of their way to make us feel welcome. They do a mean Bloody Mary too!! 10 out of 10!!!

[report for removal]  

29/07/2012 19:41:23

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Just got back from the Stoneham - must have been the quickest visit to a Pub/Restaurant ever. Ordered the 4-cheese pizza and it was tasteless. Like eating the tablemat spread with a scraping of tomato and flavourless cheese, no seasoning whatsoever. When I told the Manager/staff they could hardly hear me over the horrendously loud music. They said thanks for the feedback and that will be £26.00 please - no suggestion of a reduction, even though I had left three quarters of it.

[report for removal]  

25/08/2011 07:33:07

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Really disappointed. Visited twice to give it a chance but each time same poor, slow service. The whole pub needs a good clean too, the floors and tables are sticky, not for me and I won't be going back.

[report for removal]  

31/07/2011 19:45:56

Reviewed by:
BHA1962

Convenient although a little over priced. Staff more interested in themselves than customers. Take no notice re advertised last times for ordering food can be over an hour earlier!! Manager on last visit did not remove an annoying drunk customer.

Staff incapable of pouring a full pint.

[report for removal]  

26/07/2011 15:48:00

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

What a fantastic Friendly Place!!

Had a Great experience at the Stoneham- Fab food, Lovely helpful staff, cosy relaxed atmosphere. Will be visiting again!

[report for removal]  

18/07/2011 22:16:03

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Had been coming here periodically for the past 6 months or so but now more.

I was sitting my 2 and 3 year old daughters down on a couch and having barely managed to give them a juicebox and before I could even get up to the bar to by myself a pint, one of the barman had swooped over to us and and started cutting into how rude I was for having the audacity to give my children a bit of a snack in his "child friendly" establishment from "the outside" (I have NEVER had a problem doing this ANYWHERE in Brighton, or London, or England, Spain, Italy, France, or the US in the past couple years. Not a single bar, restaurant, pub, you name it.

I could go on and on about the conversation I had with this guy (he even had the cheek to admit he also had a 2 year-old - and no, they don't offer juice boxes or any means of serving up a 2 year old in a child friendly way), but it's hardly worth my breath. I nor my wife nor kids nor any friends I have in the area will be going into this place again.

[report for removal]  

17/06/2011 21:47:37

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I went to The Stoneham pub today and was impressed with both the quality of food and the service we received, the prices were fine and we left happy with full intentions to return again.

My suggestions to those who were not happy, man up inside the pub instead of getting home and having a winge behind the safety of your computer

Jake

[report for removal]  

11/06/2011 15:50:51

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Rude staff. Long wait for crap pizza. Never going back.

[report for removal]  

10/06/2011 20:38:41

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Also never going back!

Just returned from 2 hours waiting for Pizzas which never arrived. Absolutely agree with the previous comments & we had same experience. Really rude,aggressive man who came to the table (me, my teenager & toddler) after we politely explained to 2 staff members that we had finished our starter over an hour before and please could we have our main course. I barely opened my mouth before he laid into me - telling me that he remembered me and he had served me at the bar only 30 minutes before. Unfortunately, he was bullshitting and intimidating the wrong woman - knew precisely when we arrived as met teen at 6.30pm & sent a text after starter so knew precisely how long we waited- 2 hours!

This was our 2nd attempt - went there last Autumn the day after it opened and 2 of us had food poisoning the next day.

Great idea - our community really needs a place like this but this is not the place and these are not the people to deliver it! Steer clear!

[report for removal]  

08/06/2011 18:58:50

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

Never going back.

Living in the area with two young children, we thought that this would be a great new addition to the area. Unfortunately the manager needs a lesson or two in manners and how to speak politely and with respect to people. He was so rude to myself and my partner that even people sitting at the next table told him he was being "so rude". And all because we foolishly walked through the OPEN garden gate in to the garden, carrying a heavy car seat filled with baby and a toddler, and he spoke to us as if we were the worst thing you could find on the bottom of your shoe and told us "count this as your first warning"(?!!). We are both hospital doctors and have been used over the years to some patients being on the wrong side of polite when they come in to A & E, but you don't expect that sort of treatment from the manager of a local pub.

We will not be going back

[report for removal]  

07/01/2011 10:27:38

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I agree with the previous comments. The idea is great and finally the awful pub that was there before is gone with all of its nasty and drunken clientele. However the pizzas are not that great and the food is inconsistent every time. I have gone there now 5 or 6 times and I have given up. Once the pizza is thin and lovely, another time the dough is so hard you can play frisbee with it. I therefore went to the Station pub in Hove and had a pizza from there which was soo much better for a qick bite when not in the mood to cook. Also the pizzas there were up to 8 pounds top. Stoneham charges up to 14 pounds for a pizza because of 2 drops of truffle oil...come on !!! Also menu full of spelling mistakes and not just in Italian but english too..forget it !

[report for removal]  

13/11/2010 20:43:40

Reviewed by:
Anonymous

I don't know why, but was expecting great things from the Stoneham's Pizzas. The menu and and popularity of the place probably are the reason. But they are frankly very dissapointing. If you like your pizza like Dominos or Pizza Hut then you'll like these. If you enjoy a proper italian pizza with simple quality ingredients then I suggest going elsewhere.

[report for removal]  

03/10/2010 17:50:38

Reviewed by:
Jai

Recently changed it's name from the Portland Hotel and has had a complete makeover. Was there last night which was the opening night and it was fairly busy.

This is a big bar and has been refurbished to look quite upmarket. There is a large bar area then another eating area (which it seems you have to walk through to get to the toilets). Got there about 8ish and the place was still full of kids which wasn't great for a quiet pint.

There is an extensive pizza menu which looked good. They weren't serving but were doing small samples which tasted good.

All in all though I wasn't keen. It's far nicer in the Three Graces over the road if you ask me. All just a bit too big and open plan and lacking atmosphere. Probably not bad for some food during the day or if you've got kids.

[report for removal]